Ronimo Games
Based in Utrecht, The Netherlands

Release date:
2 March, 2016

PC / Mac / Linux


Regular Price:



The Awesomenauts: Overdrive expansion was released spring 2016 and included a massive overhaul of the matchmaking system and updates to core game mechanics.

In addition to these features, Awesomenauts: Overdrive will add three technologically-advanced characters to the playable roster, and brings visual improvements to various aspects of the game, including a complete visual rework of fan-favorite Sheriff Lonestar!

With the introduction of Update 4.0 this expansion is no longer needed, as players can now unlock characters using currency which is earned by playing.


Awesomenauts: Overdrive is the second expansion for Awesomenauts since it originally launched on Steam in August 2012. The Starstorm expansion was successfully crowdfunded in September 2013 and released as an Early Access title in December of that same year.

The Awesomenauts: Overdrive expansion will released in spring 2016 and will introduce three brand-new characters in a single update. Over the coming months, all of these characters will be released in public Beta tests. All of the additional content that is included in this expansion will be released over the course of the next six months.


  • New Matchmaking - a new matchmaking system, running on our own servers, is coming! It'll do a better job at skill-matching and be much more stable, so whether you win or lose a match... everybody wins with this new system.
  • New Characters - The time-travelling inventor Professor M. Yoolip, hyperbike-riding bounty hunter Chucho Krokk, and the LUX5000 bot piloted by the twin babies Jimmy and Amy, are gearing up to join the Awesomenauts! These three Awesomenauts will form the premium content for the Awesomenauts: Overdrive Expansion when it launches on Steam in March 2016.
  • Overhauled Game Mechanics - Fight as a team, win as a team! The XP and Leveling System, which was introduced in a recent update to Awesomenauts, is a new core mechanics of the game and the first big step of many changes to come. We’ll continue to iterate on various game mechanics in the coming months.
  • Visual Update - We're giving a visual overhaul to some of our existing content! For example, Sheriff Lonestar has received a complete visual overhaul, and has had all of his animations and costumes redone! More content that has been with us since the launch of Awesomenauts receive visual updates over the next several months!


Overdrive Announcement trailer YouTube


download all screenshots & logos as .zip (6MB)


Warning: Undefined variable $press_request_outdated_warning in /customers/d/a/7/ronimo-games.com/httpd.www/Presskit/sheet.php on line 861

Official Awesomenauts Facebook
Head over to facebook.com.

Official Awesomenauts Forum
Available at awesomenauts.com.

About Ronimo Games

Ronimo Games creates 2D entertainment games for downloadable platforms. We've been around for 8 years and in the meantime we've released Swords & Soldiers (Wii, PS3, Steam, iOS, Android, Wii U), Awesomenauts (PS3, Xbox 360, Steam, Playstation 4), and Swords & Soldiers II (Wii U).

Youtube monetization is permitted for all of our games. Don't hesitate to contact us for editorial and sponsorship opportunities.

More information
More information on Ronimo Games, our logo & relevant media are available here.

Awesomenauts Credits

Art Team
Gijs Hermans, Ralph Rademakers, Martijn Thieme, Olivier Thijssen, Koen Gabriëls, Tim Scheel

Additional Art
Robin Keijzer, Yasmin Sheikh

Art Interns
Elsje Bakker, Sanne Cazemier, Adam Daroszewski, Sander Doomen, Dilay Erol, Wan Yie Jim, Tristan Kok, Mitch Leeuwe, Jacqueline van Rhijn, Thomas Rietbergen, Moniek Schilder, Nicole Smit, Robin Wouters

Design Team
Fabian Akker, Jasper Koning

Design Interns
Eric Diepeveen, Mike van den Eventuin, Dion Koster, Thomas Pathuis

Programming Team
Joost van Dongen, Thijs Adriaansen, Maarten van den Heijkant, Machiel van Hooren, Ted de Vries, Dennis van Zwieten

Programming Interns
Inge Becht
Eric Castermans, Bart Knuiman, Dries Lamberechts, Paul Mertens, Daan Niphuis, Niels Uiterwijk, Cédric Van de Walle, Rick de Water

Robin Meijer

Audio and music by
Sonic Picnic

presskit() by Rami Ismail (Vlambeer) - also thanks to these fine folks